Torey Lovullo and Paul Molitor win Managers of the Year

Oct 4, 2017; Phoenix, AZ, USA; Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo (17) looks on from the field in the 2017 National League wildcard playoff baseball game against the Colorado Rockies at Chase Field. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The Managers of the Year for the 2017 baseball season were announced on Tuesday, with Torey Lovullo of the Arizona Diamondbacks and Paul Molitor of the Minnesota Twins winning the honors.

Lovullo finished in first place with more than double the points of Los Angeles Dodgers manager Dave Roberts, who finished in second. Arizona’s skipper earned 18 first-place votes, while Roberts got five, with Bud Black of the Colorado Rockies and Craig Counsell of the Milwaukee Brewers each garnering three. Dusty Baker of the Washington Nationals earned one. Chicago Cubs skipper Joe Maddon finished in sixth.

Lovullo wins the honor in his first season at the helm for Arizona, leading the team to a 93-69 record and berth in the National League Wild Card Game. The Diamondbacks would fall to the Los Angeles Dodgers in the first round, but the team did a complete 360 to its win total from the 2016 year.

Molitor’s victory was closer than that of the National League, as he received 18 first-place votes in comparison to the 11 that Cleveland Indianas skipper Terry Francona received. Houston Astros manager A.J. Hinch was the only other AL manager to receive a first-place vote. New York Yankees manager Joe Girardi finished in fourth place in his final season with the ballclub.

Molitor wins the honor in his third year with the organization, having come off a 59-win season in 2016. He led the team to their first playoff berth since the 2010 year, going on to lose to the New York Yankees in the American League Wild Card Game.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top