Modern-Era nominees for Pro Football Hall of Fame announced

October 11, 2010: Minnesota Vikings at New York Jets at New Meadowlands Stadium in East Rutherford, NJ - Vikings Randy Moss talks with Brett Farve on the sideline during the second quarter.

The Modern-Era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame have been announced for the 2018 class. All in all, there are 108 players and coaches on the list, including such prominent NFL names as Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair, Tiki Barber, Randy Moss, Terrell Owens, and Ray Lewis.

Among the many players and coaches, there are a few that should be considered locks to make it into the Hall. Moss is one of the greatest wide receivers of all-time, leading the NFL in touchdown receptions five times in his career; he averaged 956 receiving yards per season over 15 years.

Owens also had a stellar career as a wide receiver during the same era as Moss, leading the league in touchdowns three times and averaging 1,062 yards over 15 seasons. He went to the Super Bowl once along with McNabb, but the Philadelphia Eagles lost to the New England Patriots. He was infamously left out of the Hall last year.

McNabb played 13 NFL seasons, 11 of them with the Eagles. He finished his career with a passer rating of 85.6 with over 37,000 passing yards and 234 touchdown passes, as well as 3,459 rushing yards, 29 rushing touchdowns, and 5.6 yards per carry. McNabb revolutionized the quarterback position in the late-1990s and early 2000s with his quick feet and long scrambles on broken plays.

According to the Hall of Fame, 18 candidates will be presented to the 48-member selection committee on “Selection Saturday,” which falls the day before Super Bowl Sunday. Of the 18 finalists, 15 will be comprised of those from the list in addition to Senior Finalists Robert Brazile and Jerry Kramer, as well as Contributor Finalist Bobby Beathard.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. crosseyedlemon

    Sep 13, 2017 at 2:06 pm

    It’s interesting that Clark Shaughnessy is considered part of the modern era. He was the architect of the T-formation waaay back in 1940. Already inducted into the college HOF he is certainly worthy, but they should probably have him with the senior finalists.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top