Texas Tech’s Patrick Mahomes, II wins 2016 Sammy Baugh Award

AMES, IA - NOVEMBER 19: Texas Tech Red Raiders quarterback Patrick Mahomes II (5) scrambles as he looks down field for a receiver during the first half of an NCAA football game between the Texas Tech Red Raiders and the Iowa State Cyclones on November 19, 2016, at Jack Trice Stadium, Ames, IA. (Photo by Merle Laswell/Icon Sportswire)
Merle Laswell/Icon Sportswire

Texas Tech quarterback Patrick Mahomes, II joined elite company on Thursday as he was named the 2016 winner of the Sammy Baugh Award.

The trophy, which was first presented in 1959, annually goes to the top passer in the FBS. Mahomes joins the likes of Bob Griese, John Elway, Steve Young, Vinny Testaverde and several other well-known quarterbacks who have won the award.

Mahomes finished the regular season leading all FBS players in total offense (5,312 yards), passing yards (5,052 yards), points responsible for (318) and total touchdowns (53). He also leads the FBS in passing plays of 10-plus, 20-plus, 30-plus and 50-plus yards.

Against Oklahoma, Mahomes set a single-game NCAA record for total offensive yards (819). In that game, he tied a single-game FBS passing record with 734 yards and chipped in 85 more on the ground. He also scored seven total touchdowns in that outing, one of his six games in which he scored at least five total touchdowns.

Mahomes notably concluded the 2016 regular season with 586 passing yards and six touchdowns against Baylor as well. While no other FBS quarterback threw for more than 500 yards more than once, Mahomes did it on four separate occasions.

The Whitehouse, Texas native is the fourth Texas Tech signal caller to win the Sammy Baugh Award. Coincidentally, the first was current Red Raiders’ head coach Kliff Kingsbury in 2002. B.J. Symons won it the following year as Texas Tech quarterbacks won it back-to-back seasons and then Graham Harrell took home the award in 2007.

While Texas Tech has four winners of the Sammy Baugh Award since 2002, Oklahoma is the only other school that has multiple quarterback winners in the last 13 years.

Smack Apparel

To Top