NASCAR names Brent Dewar its 4th president

LAS VEGAS, NV - MARCH 12: Martin Truex Jr (78) Furniture Row Racing Toyota Camry crosses the finish line for the victory as the checkered flag flies during the Kobalt 400 NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series race on March 12, 2017 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in Las Vegas, NV. (Photo by Chris Williams/Icon Sportswire)
Chris Williams/Icon Sportswire

Brent Dewar was named NASCAR’s fourth president on Thursday, NASCAR announced in a statement. He will take over the position effective immediately.

Dewar has served as NASCAR’s COO since December 2013 and will continue to serve on NASCAR’s board of directors. He also assisted in the negotiations to help NASCAR land Monster Energy as its entitlement sponsor prior to this season.

“Brent has helped lead a cultural transformation at NASCAR,” NASCAR chairman and CEO Brian France said in the statement. “From collaborating with team owners to building the charter framework; to partnering with tracks, auto manufacturers, entitlement sponsors, and broadcasters to deliver better racing and a more dynamic fan experience; he has spearheaded some of the most impactful enhancements NASCAR has implemented in its history.

“I couldn’t be more thrilled about the impact Brent has had on our industry and I am confident he will continue to help serve and grow our sport for many years to come.”

Prior to joining NASCAR, Dewer spent three decades as a global automobile executive, including assignments, in Europe and North and South America. He’s also been a key figure in helping NASCAR’s goal to embrace technology and environmental sustainability.

Mike Helton was named NASCAR’s third president in 2000 and was elevated to vice chairman of NASCAR in 2015. Bill France Sr. was NASCAR’s first president, starting when it was founded it 1948 and holding the position all the way up until 1972. Bill France Jr. then took over as NASCAR’s second president. Both France Sr. and Jr. were inducted into NASCAR’s inaugural Hall of Fame class in 2010.

To Top