MLB Defensive Player of the Year award winners announced

Sep 25, 2017; Denver, CO, USA; Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado (28) during the eighth inning against the Miami Marlins at Coors Field. Mandatory Credit: Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports
Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

On Friday the winners of the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year awards were announced, with the Colorado Rockies laying claim to three of the winners. Third baseman Nolan Arenado was one of those three, winning the award on the hot corner for the third consecutive year. In addition to the three Wilson Awards, Arenado has also won a Gold Glove in each of his five full MLB seasons.

Arenado was one of two Rockies infielders to win an award, with DJ LeMahieu winning the Wilson Trophy at second base. The Rockies were able to claim three Wilson Award winners in total, with pitcher Tyler Chatwood winning for the first time in his career.

Completing the infield honorees were catcher Martin Maldonado of the Los Angeles Angels, Cleveland Indians first baseman Carlos Santana and Angels shortstop Andrelton Simmons. Since the beginning of the 2013 season, Simmons leads the majors in runs saved (any position) with 144.

Playing in more than 100 games for the first time in his major league career, center fielder Byron Buxton of the Minnesota Twins won his first Wilson Trophy. Buxton led all major league center fielders in runs saved with 24, two more than Tampa Bay Rays center fielder Kevin Kiermaier. Buxton was also the American League Gold Glove winner in center field for the first time in his MLB career.

Joining Buxton as the Defensive Player of the Year award winners in the outfield were right fielder Yasiel Puig of the Los Angeles Dodgers and left fielder Alex Gordon of the Kansas City Royals.

In addition to the award winners for each position, the best overall defensive player in baseball and the top defensive team in baseball were also announced. Buxton won the overall award, with the Los Angeles Dodgers winning the award for the best defensive team in baseball.

The formula used to determine the award winners at the positions other than pitcher and catcher is broken down as follows: 25 percent defensive wins above replacement (WAR), 25 percent defensive runs saved, 20 percent Inside Edge fielding ratings, 20 percent Inside Edge arm ratings and 10 percent fielding percentage.

Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award winners:

  • P: Tyler Chatwood (Rockies)
  • C: Martin Maldonado (Angels)
  • 1B: Carlos Santana (Indians)
  • 2B: DJ LeMahieu (Rockies)
  • 3B: Nolan Arenado (Rockies)
  • SS: Andrelton Simmons (Angels)
  • LF: Alex Gordon (Royals)
  • CF: Byron Buxton (Twins)
  • RF: Yasiel Puig (Dodgers)

Best overall defensive player: CF Byron Buxton (Twins)

Defensive team of the year: Los Angeles Dodgers

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top