Miami to induct five into football Ring of Honor in October

03 September 2016: University of Miami Hurricanes mascot Sebastian the Ibis carries an American Flag as he leads University of Miami Hurricanes Defensive Back Corn Elder (29), University of Miami Hurricanes Defensive Back Rayshawn Jenkins (26), University of Miami Hurricanes Defensive Lineman Courtel Jenkins (92) and University of Miami Hurricanes Wide Receiver Malcolm Lewis (9) onto the field during the NCAA football game between the Florida A & M Rattlers and the University of Miami Hurricanes at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. (Photo by Doug Murray/Icon Sportswire)
Doug Murray/Icon Sportswire

Not only will the Miami Hurricanes wear special “Miami Nights” all-black uniforms for the game against Georgia Tech scheduled for Oct. 12, but the football program will honor five legends by inducting them into the Ring of Honor.

Michael Irvin, Ray Lewis, Ed Reed, Warren Sapp and the late Sean Taylor will be honored on that night, with the news being announced Friday afternoon. Miami will now have 23 members in its Ring of Honor, with this quintet making up the first class since Jerome Brown and Russell Maryland were inducted in 2014.

With 26 touchdown receptions in his three seasons at Miami, Irvin is still the Hurricanes’ all-time leader in that statistical category. He is also ranked in the top five of the school’s all-time list in receptions (third) and receiving yards (fourth). Lewis was a two-time first team All-Big East selection during his college career, which he finished with 388 career tackles. He and Sapp were teammates during the 1994 and 1995 seasons, with Sapp being named Big East Defensive Player of the Year in 1994.

As Lewis and Sapp were teammates at Miami, so were Reed and Taylor, who are two of the greatest safeties in program history. Reed was a two-time consensus All-America and a key leader on the 2001 team that won the program’s fifth national title. As for Taylor, who passed away in 2007, his three interception returns for touchdowns during the 2003 season remain a school record. A consensus All-America in 2003, Taylor led the nation in interceptions and was also the winner of the Big East Defensive Player of the Year award and a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award.

This is a group that went on to experience a great amount of success at the professional level as well. The 2017 class combined for 36 Pro Bowl appearances and seven Super Bowl titles, with Irvin’s three as a member of the Dallas Cowboys leading the way.

Irvin and Sapp are both members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, and 2018 will be Lewis’ first year of eligibility.

To Top