Juan Pablo Montoya Wins Indianapolis 500

Juan Pablo Montoya won the 99th running of the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday. It was his second win in three starts at the event — his last win came in 2000. It was the 16th Indy 500 win for team owner Roger Penske.

The back and forth race saw numerous lead changes late in the race before Montoya made the final pass around Will Power and Scott Dixon, the two drivers that started at the front of the race, with three laps to go. The last 15 laps were a sprint to the finish after a wreck involving Sebastian Saavedra, Jack Hawksworth and Stefano Coletti caused a break in the action for medical attention.

The win must feel special for Montoya after leaving open-wheel racing for a period to race in NASCAR. Montoya drove with Ganassi Racing in the Sprint Cup Series from 2007-13. After leaving Ganassi, Montoya joined Penske for this IndyCar season.

To Top