Golden State Warriors Win NBA Championship, Andre Iguodala Named MVP

Bob Donnan/USA Today

For the first time since 1975, the Golden State Warriors are the NBA champions. After finishing with the NBA’s best regular season record (67-15), the Warriors stormed past the New Orleans Pelicans, Memphis Grizzlies (after Game 3) and Houston Rockets to get to the NBA Finals, before a 105-97 victory over the Cleveland Cavaliers on Tuesday night won the series 4-2.

After falling behind 2-1 in the series, the Warriors won three games in a row to bring home the Larry O’Brien Trophy.

Golden State looked overmatched at points in the series and at times in Game 6, but were the more complete team. Despite blowing a big lead just before halftime, the Warriors stepped up and outscored the Cavaliers by 10 points in the third quarter.

It was the final nail in Cleveland’s coffin.

Without Kyrie Irving and Kevin Love, the Cavaliers could not muster enough offense to replace them, despite LeBron James’ heroics. James led all players with 32 points in Game 6 and 215 in the series

With the loss, LeBron drops to 2-4 in the NBA Finals (0-for-2 with Cleveland), with both championships coming as a member of the Miami Heat.

The Warriors were led by regular season MVP Stephen Curry, who scored 25 points on Tuesday. Andre Iguodala also scored 25 points while three others scored in double figures.

For complete NBA Finals coverage, head over to Today’s Fastbreak.

To Top