Cristiano Ronaldo and Lieke Martens named FIFA’s best

Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid looks on as heavy rain falls during the UEFA Champions League Semi Final Second Leg match between Atletico Madrid and Real Madrid played at the Vicente Calderon Stadium, Madrid, Spain on 10th May 2017 / Football - UEFA Champions League 2016/17 Semi Final Second Leg Atletico Madrid v Real Madrid Vicente Calderon Stadium, Madrid, Spain 10 May 2017 (Photo by BPI/Imago/Icon Sportswire)****NO AGENTS---NORTH AND SOUTH AMERICA SALES ONLY****NO AGENTS---NORTH AND SOUTH AMERICA SALES ONLY****
BPI/Imago/Icon Sportswire

Cristiano Ronaldo has been named the winner of The Best FIFA Men’s Player for 2017.

On the women’s side, the award for best player went to Lieke Martens.

Ronaldo, a star with Real Madrid and Portugal, beat out Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Paris St-Germain’s Neymar for the award. The 32-year-old forward helped Real to a Champions League-La Liga double in 2016 and 2017.

Ronaldo won the inaugural Best Fifa Football Awards last year after the Euro 2016 win. This year he scored two goals in Real’s 4-1 win over Juventus in the Champions League final. Overall, he scored 25 times in 29 appearances as his club won La Liga for the first time in five years.

Martens, of Barcelona and the Netherlands, scored three goals in The Netherlands’ victorious 2017 UEFA Women’s Euro Campaign. Martens won the Golden Ball, which is awarded to the tournament’s top player.

Ronaldo and Martens were not the only ones honored by FIFA on Monday.

Real Madrid’s Zinedine Zidane was named best men’s coach and Netherlands’ Sarina Wiegman took home the award for the best women’s coach.

Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud was given the Puskas award for the best goal of 2017 after striking a scorpion kick against Crystal Palace back in January.

Celtic was given the fan award after they honored the club’s 1967 Lisbon Lions with a 360-degree display on the 50th anniversary of the team’s European Cup title.

Juventus’ Gianluigi Buffon was named the first winner of the best goalkeeper award while Togo’s Francis Kone took home the FIFA Fair Play Award this season.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top