College Football Playoff Matchups Announced

Todd Kirkland/Icon Sportswire

And then there were four. On Sunday, the College Football Playoff selection committee named the four teams who would be competing for this year’s CFP National Championship.

The 13-0 Clemson Tigers earned the #1 seed as the nation’s only undefeated team, and have a matchup against the #4 seed University of Oklahoma Sooners (11-1). These two teams will face off at the Orange Bowl on New Year’s Eve. Last year’s #4 seed, Ohio State, upset the #1-seeded Alabama Crimson Tide, 42-35, before winning the championship game over Oregon, 42-20. The highest-ranked unit in this game will be Oklahoma’s offense, which is third in the nation at 45.8 points per game.

The other semifinal game will feature the #2-seed Alabama against the #3-seed Michigan State, to be held on New Year’s Eve at the Cotton Bowl. The Michigan State Spartans earned their entry the night before with a 16-13 victory over the previously undefeated Iowa Hawkeyes. The Crimson Tide are the only team to appear twice in the College Football Playoff, as last year’s contestants Ohio State, Oregon, and Florida State all fell short this season. Alabama head coach Nick Saban coached the Spartans from 1995-99.

To Top