Naismith Basketball HoF Shortens Eligibility Wait

Zuma Press/Icon Sportswire

As originally reported by Scott Howard-Cooper of NBA.com, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is shortening the number of post-retirement years that a player must wait into order to become eligible to enter into the Hall, down from five years to four.

As Howard-Cooper notes, this enables what he calls a “mega-class” of Shaquille O’Neal, Allen Iverson, and Yao Ming to all be inducted in 2016. Howard-Cooper also points out that fringe candidates like Kevin Johnson, Tim Hardaway, and Chris Webber will have that much of a tougher time getting elected.

Alongside O’Neal and Ming, other notable players who last played in 2010-11 include Zydrunas Ilgauskas, Peja Stojakovic, and Antonio McDyess.

New candidates for the Class of 2017, or players who last played in 2011-12, are headlined by Tracy McGrady and Ben Wallace.

To Top