Aaron Judge and Giancarlo Stanton among Silver Slugger winners

Oct 20, 2017; Houston, TX, USA; New York Yankees right fielder Aaron Judge (99) hits a solo home run against the Houston Astros in the eighth inning during game six of the 2017 ALCS playoff baseball series at Minute Maid Park. Mandatory Credit: Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports
Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

Thursday evening the winners of this year’s Silver Slugger awards were announced, and among the winners were the home run champions in both leagues, New York Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge and Miami Marlins outfielder Giancarlo Stanton.

Judge, in his first full major league season, led the American League with 52 home runs while also hitting .284 with 114 runs batted in and a 1.049 OPS. Judge was one of two Yankees to receive a Silver Slugger Award, with catcher Gary Sanchez being the other. Also playing his first full MLB season after playing in a total of 55 games in 2015 and 2016, Sanchez hit .278 with 33 home runs, 90 runs batted in and a .876 OPS during the regular season.

Six of the nine Silver Slugger awards in the American League were claimed by the Yankees, World Series champion Houston Astros and Cleveland Indians.

Houston’s Jose Altuve and George Springer won at second base and outfielder, respectively, with shortstop Francisco Lindor and third baseman Jose Ramirez representing the Indians. Closing out the list in the American League were Royals first baseman Eric Hosmer, Angels outfielder Justin Upton and Mariners designated hitter Nelson Cruz.

Marlins outfielder Giancarlo Stanton led all of baseball with 59 home runs while also driving in 132 runs and producing an OPS of 1.007. Stanton was one of two Marlins outfielders to win a Silver Slugger, with Marcell Ozuna being the other. Ozuna hit .312 with 37 home runs, 124 RBI and a .924 OPS in 159 games this season.

Miami was one of two National League teams with multiple players honored, as Colorado also had two Silver Slugger recipients in third baseman Nolan Arenado and outfielder Charlie Blackmon.

Also winning Silver Slugger awards in the NL were Giants catcher Buster Posey, Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt, Nationals second baseman Daniel Murphy, Dodgers third baseman Corey Seager and Cardinals pitcher Adam Wainwright.

Just In:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top