2017 Walter Payton Man of the Year finalists announced

Feb 4, 2017; Houston, TX, USA; New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning (left) and Arizona Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald speak to the media in the press room after being named co-winners of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year during the 6th Annual NFL Honors at Wortham Theater. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The 2017 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award finalists were announced Thursday night. The winner of the award will receive a $50,000 donation to the charity of their choosing, with the other 31 finalists all receiving their own $5,000 donation.

Last year, Eli Manning and Larry Fitzgerald both claimed the award, marking the first time since 2006 that two men had won the honor in the same year.

Only the Kansas City Chiefs have had a winner of the award in back-to-back seasons, last doing so in 1972-73, which means Mark Herzlich and Patrick Peterson are facing daunting odds.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Big Savings for Big Fans at Fanatics.com
To Top